University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Office of the Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Report an Incident

Nominations Open for Larine Y. Cowan Make a Difference Awards

Headshots of Leslie K. Morrow, JJ Pionke, Shardé McNeil Smith, and Avital Livny

The Larine Y. Cowan Make a Difference Award is open for nominations until May 25. The awards celebrate the achievements of faculty, academic professionals and civic service employees who made significant contributions in creating and sustaining an inclusive living, learning and working community at Illinois.

There are four categories of awards. The Advocacy for LGBTQ Affairs, Excellence in Access and Accommodations, Leadership in Diversity and the Teaching and Mentoring in Diversity.

Named in honor of the past Assistant Chancellor and Director of what is now the Office for Access & Equity, the Larine Y. Cowan Awards were created to reflect the commitment to human rights advocacy, social justice, and diversity that defined her leadership for nearly 20 years at Illinois.

Nominations may be submitted by any member of the University community. For specific information regarding each category, please see the nomination form.

The Cowan Awards are presented each year during the annual Celebration of Diversity hosted by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion.